Charles Mingus – Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus


Weight 0,8 kg

Analogue Productions

Catalog number





45 RPM Vinyl Record

No. of Discs


Out of stock

Notify me when the item is available to order again.

swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe ->

  • Originally released in 1963.
  • Charles Mingus, bass, piano, vocals
  • Jay Berliner, guitar
  • Don Butterfield, trombone, tuba
  • Jaki Byard, piano
  • Eric Dolphy, flute, alto saxophone
  • Rolf Ericson, trumpet
  • Booker Ervin, tenor saxophone
  • Dick Hafer, clarinet, flute, oboe, tenor saxophone
  • Quentin Jackson, trombone
  • Charlie Mariano, alto saxophone
  • Walter Perkins, drums
  • Eddie Preston, trumpet
  • Jerome Richardson, flute, baritone saxophone, soprano saxophone
  • Dannie Richmond, drums
  • Richard Gene Williams, trumpet
  • Britt Woodman, trombone

Mingus is also all about the ensemble…this reissue has a life and immediacy I’ve not heard before with this title, whose stunning music overwhelms any flaws of the recording.” – Wayne Garcia, The Absolute Sound, June/July 2009

Produced by Impulse! A&R director Bob Thiele in 1963, this recording is a major showcase of the talented Charles Mingus as a bassist, pianist and writer. In his 1963 original liner notes, critic-at-large Nat Hentoff said that of all the musicians, it is impossible to remain indifferent to Mingus. This recording more than any other testifies to Hentoff’s claim. More so today than in 60’s, there is truly only one Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus.

  • II B.S.
  • I X Love
  • Celia
  • Mood Indigo
  • Better Get Hit in Yo’ Soul
  • Theme for Lester Young
  • Hora Decubitus
Add a review