Oscar Peterson – We Get Requests


Weight 0,8 kg

Verve (Acoustic Sounds Series)



Catalog number

AVER 79701


180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs


Out of stock

Notify me when the item is available to order again.

swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe ->

  • Acoustic Sounds Series reissues from Verve/Universal Music Enterprises!
  • Monthly releases highlighting the world's most historic and best jazz records!
  • Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
  • 180-gram LPs pressed at Quality Record Pressings!
  • Stoughton Printing gatefold old-style tip-on jackets
  • Series supervised by Chad Kassem CEO of Acoustic Sounds
  • Note: A new analog stereo tape was made from the original 3-track master. The LP was cut directly from the new stereo master tape.
  • Musicians: Oscar Peterson, piano Ray Brown, bass Ed Thigpen, drums

This reissue delivers on so many levels, and is in every way better than my original 1960s-era vinyl pressing. The LP was mastered in stereo from the original analog tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Quality Record Pressings (QRP). The list price is $38.98, and it’s worth every penny.” — Music = 9/11; Sound = 10/11 — Mark Smotroff, Analog Planet, Aug. 5, 2022. Read the entire review here.

When Jim Davis started producing records at Verve, he changed the company’s recording philosophy toward its most prolific instrumentalist. Where Norman Granz had produced countless Oscar Peterson albums dedicated to the popular song, Davis was more interested in making albums closer to how the Peterson trio sounded live.

By then the Peterson trio with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen had been together for five years and performed like a well-oiled machine. Listeners here are treated to mostly pop songs of the day, including bossa nova tunes and film themes, and the treatments are fairly brief, with emphasis placed squarely on the melodies.

Originally released in 1964.

Side A
  • Quiet Nights Of Quiet Stars (Corcovado)
  • The Days Of Wine & Roses
  • My One And Only Love
  • People
  • Have you Met Miss Jones?
Side B
  • You Look Good To Me
  • The Girl From Ipanema
  • D. & E.
  • Time And Again
  • Goodbye J.D.
Add a review