Nina Simone – Wild Is The Wind


Weight 0,8 kg

Philips (Acoustic Sounds Series)

Catalog number

APHI 75201




180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs


Out of stock

Notify me when the item is available to order again.

swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe ->

  • New for 2023!
  • Acoustic Sounds Series reissues from Verve/Universal Music Enterprises!
  • Monthly releases highlighting the world's most historic and best jazz records!
  • Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound from the original analog tapes
  • 180-gram LPs pressed at Quality Record Pressings!
  • Stoughton Printing gatefold old-style tip-on jackets
  • Series supervised by Chad Kassem CEO of Acoustic Sounds

Nina Simone’s Wild Is The Wind, from March 1966, and its breathlessly engaging title track, were compiled from several recordings that were left over from sessions for previous albums for Phillips. In 2020 the album was ranked 212 on Rolling Stone‘s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. Rolling Stone says it’s among Simone’s “most enthralling and eclectic.”

“With her dusky voice at its most commanding, Simone works her way through roadhouse soul (‘I Love Your Lovin’ Ways’) and dramatic set pieces (the melancholic ‘Lilac Wine,’ later covered by Jeff Buckley). It peaks with ‘Four Women,’ an ambitious saga of racially diverse women and their struggles, written by Simone.” — Rolling Stone

Seeking to offer definitive audiophile grade versions of some of the most historic and best jazz records ever recorded, Verve Label Group and Universal Music Enterprises’ audiophile Acoustic Sounds vinyl reissue series utilizes the skills of top mastering engineers and the unsurpassed production craft of Quality Record Pressings. All titles are mastered from the original analog tapes, pressed on 180-gram vinyl and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality gatefold sleeves with tip-on jackets. The releases are supervised by Chad Kassem, CEO of Acoustic Sounds, the world’s largest source for audiophile recordings.

Side A
  • I Love Your Lovin’ Ways
  • Four Women
  • What More Can I Say
  • Lilac Wine (From “Dance Me A Song”)
  • That’s All I Ask
  • Break Down And Let It All Out
Side 4

  • Languta

Side 5

  • Nomali

Side 6

  • Market Place
  • Ntyilo Ntyilo (The Love Bird)
Add a review