Rufus Reid Presents Caelan Cardello



Analogue Productions


180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs




Catalog number

ALIAM 81276


Pre-Order shipping within 5 to 10 working days after US street day (November 01, 2023)

In stock

I am aware and agree, that the Record will be put out of the original shrink wrap (this will be included to the delivery).

swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe ->

  • Analogue Productions
  • 180-gram vinyl
  • Tracking Angle's Michael Fremer executive produces his first album featuring distinquished bassist Rufus Reid and up-and-coming pianist Caelan Cardello!
  • Mastered from the original 24-bit/96K digital files by Bob Ludwig
  • Mastered directly from the original master tape by Bernie Grundman
  • Lacquers cut by Matthew Lutthans at The Mastering Lab at Blue Heaven Studios
  • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
  • Packaged in a Stoughton Printing old-style, tip-on jacket

Michael Fremer and Robin Wyatt announce Rufus Reid Presents Caelan Cardello LP! here

In his long, distinguished career, veteran bassist Rufus Reid has played and recorded with the likes of Kenny Burrell, Donald Byrd, Thad Jones, and Dexter Gordon In January 2023, Reid and his double bass took the Klavierhaus stage at the New York Jazz Piano Festival Marathon. Young pianist Caelan Cardello sat down at a Fazioli Grand piano.

Following show promoter Jim Luce’s introduction, the duo dug into Thad Jones’ “Mean What You Say” and Cedar Walton’s “Bolivia.” Making lockstep musical magic, Cardello heeded Reid’s requests for solo space and produced fearless lyrical runs up and down the keyboard in service of the song. Only then did Reid tell the audience that the two had never played together. What transpired was a result of a short meeting between the musicians before the show.

“This should have been recorded,” said executive producer Michael Fremer to associate producer Robin Wyatt. “It is!” Wyatt shot back. “Our friend, recording engineer Duke Markos, is back there!”

“If it sounds good, this needs to be released on vinyl,” Fremer replied Wyatt, who agreed. As did Reid and Cardello.

Days later the producers learned Cardello is an alumna of the Jazz House Kids arts program developed by Melissa Walker and husband Christian McBride, and that the couple has been following his progress since he was an adolescent.

When the mix had been finalized, Fremer sent the files to Bob Ludwig so he could enjoy the music. Ludwig responded: “Sounds great. I’d like to master this for you because in a few years everyone will know who Caelan Cardello is.”

Packaged in a Stoughton jacket and pressed at QRP, this record is one of Ludwig’s final projects before retiring. His touch is present in the grooves cut by Matthew Lutthans on the late Doug Sax’s Mastering Labs lathe.

Executive Producer: Michael Fremer
Associate Producer: Robin Wyatt
Recording Engineer: Duke Markos
Mixed by: Duke Markos with assistance from Michael Fremer and Joe Harley
Mastered by: Robert Ludwig at Gateway Mastering
Lacquers cut by: Matthew Lutthans at The Mastering Lab at Blue Heaven Studios
Plated and pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Quality Record Pressings
Packaged in a Stoughton Printing old-style, tip-on jacket

  • Intro
  • Mean What You Say
  • Bolivia
  • Whims Of Chambers
  • It’s The Nights I Like
  • Stablemates
  • If You Could See Me Now
Add a review