Sam Cooke – Night Beat


Weight 0,8 kg

Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Catalog number

AAPP 2709-45




45 RPM Vinyl Record

No. of Discs


Out of stock

Notify me when the item is available to order again.

swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe ->

  • Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound from the original three-track masters

“…Thanks to Analogue Productions’ 45-rpm reissue of Cooke’s 1963 RCA album Night Beat he still speaks to us – eloquently. The sound is opulent; the songs excellent; the singing nonpareil; the mood, oh-so nostalgic.” Music = 4.5/5; Sonics = 4/5 – Jonathan Valin, The Absolute Sound, September 2010

“…The recording by Dave Hassinger is a masterpiece of immediacy, transparency and harmonic complexity…This is a big, juicy, wet and intoxicating recording comprised of richly drawn instruments, particularly Billy Preston’s shimmering Hammond organ and Hal Blaine’s woody percussion…A knockout of a reissue and essential.” Music = 10/11; Sound = 10/11 – Michael Fremer, Musicangle

“Whenever I think of Night Beat, I wonder how many records as perfect have been made since 1963. Listen anew to Sam Cooke’s vocal honey on this Soul Blues album and I doubt you will come up with any worthy contenders…This 45 RPM issue was remastered at Sterling Sound and brings out the backing musicians including organist Billy Preston and guitarist Barney Kessel better than the ABKCO release, and makes it sound more like Sam was in the same room with the band. The definitive Night Beat.” Recording = 10/10; Music = 10/10 – Dennis Davis, Hi-Fi+, Issue 69

Clearly Sam Cooke’s most intimate, most soulful and ultimately most real recording. This one has the feel of a private performance captured after hours when the audience had gone home and the singer was singing purely for the love of his songs. The performance put forth is simply straight from Cooke’s soul. His selection of songs include spiritual, bluesy ballads and gospel classics. Cooke owns these songs, making each interpretation all his own. This is warm music that’s easy to connect with. Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound from the original three-track masters.

Originally released in 1963.

  • 1. Nobody Knows the Trouble I’ve Seen
  • 2. Lost and Lookin’
  • 3. Mean Old World
  • 4. Please Don’t Drive Me Away
  • 5. I Lost Everything
  • 6. Get Yourself a Another Fool
  • 7. Little Red Rooster
  • 8. Laughin’ and Clownin’
  • 9. Trouble Blues
  • 10. You Gotta Move
  • 11. Fool’s Paradise
  • 12. Shake Rattle and Roll