Zubin Mehta – Mahler: Symphony No. 3 In D Minor/ Forrester



Analogue Productions

Catalog number

AAPC 117




180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs


Out of stock

Notify me when the item is available to order again.

swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe ->

  • Double 33 1/3 gatefold LP
  • Mastered by veteran LP mastering engineer Willem Makkee
  • Plated and pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Quality Record Pressings!
  • Musicians: Maureen Forrester, contralto The Los Angeles Philharmonic Zubin Mehta, conductor Sidney Harth, violin Robert di Vall, posthorn

Experience overwhelming sonics on this 2 LP Decca. Mahler Symphony No. 3 by the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Zubin Mehta with Maureen Forrester, contralto. Considered to be one of the best Decca recordings; made in March 1978 in Royce Hall, U.S.A. by recording engineers James Lock and Simon Eadon. Mastered by noted mastering engineer Willem Makkee from the original tapes on a Neumann VMS 80 lathe.

Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)

Side 1

Part 1

  • I Kräftig (Part 1)

Side 2

  •  I Kräftig (conclusion)

Part II

  • II Tempo di menuetto (Violin solo: Sidney Harth)


Side 3

  • III Comodo (Posthorn solo: Robert di Vall)
  • IV Sehr langsam — Misterioso “O Mensch! O Mensch!” – With MAUREEN FORRESTER, contralto

Side 4

  • V Lustig im Tempo und keck im Ausdruck “Bimm bamm” – With MAUREEN FORRESTER, contralto, The California Boys’ Choir – VI Langsam