Alexander Gibson – Witches’ Brew


Weight 1,1 kg

Analogue Productions (RCA/DECCA Living Stereo)

Catalog number

AAPC 2225




180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs


In stock

I am aware and agree, that the Record will be put out of the original shrink wrap (this will be included to the delivery).

swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe ->

  • Witches' Brew on 180-gram vinyl from Analogue Productions!
  • Renowned "woofer wower" remastered by Willem Makkee from the original tapes
  • Plated and pressed by Quality Record Pressings
  • Tip-on jacket by Stoughton Printing

Of the most rare RCAs, Witches’ Brew rates near the top of the heap of desired RCAs. … The LP selections were recorded by Decca recording engineer Kenneth Wilkinson in fabled Kingsway Hall and released in 1958. … The reissue maintains the big, explosive sound of the original with up-front sound. It avoids some of the unnatural sizzle and harshness in the Classic Records version and probably gives as good an indication of why this record became so collectable as any of us are likely to encounter. … For sheer fun, fabulous sound and a taste of record collecting history without the financial pain, this is hard to beat.” — Recording = 10/10; Music = 8/10 — Dennis D. Davis, Hi-Fi +, Issue 141

This famous Alexander Gibson/New Symphony Orchestra of London collection from 1958 debuted at the dawn of the RCA Living Stereo era. It became one of the most sought-after Living Stereos with music by Arnold, Liszt and Mussorgsky amongst others, all with a spooky, witchy theme. The performances remain today as characterful and incisive as they were then.

We’ve taken this classic and given it the full Analogue Productions reissue treatment, featuring a remaster by Germany’s Willem Makkee from the original analog tapes, and plating and 180-gram pressing by Quality Record Pressings. Topping it off is a thick cardboard Stoughton Printing tip-on jacket.

If such music didn’t cast the right sort of spell, so many listeners wouldn’t be returning to it on so many occasions, somehow feeling constantly refreshed.

Side 1
  • Overture To “Tam O’ Shanter”, Op. 52
  • Gnomus (from “Pictures at an Exhibition”)
  • A Night On Bare Mountain
Side 2
  • Danse Macabre, Op. 40
  • Witches’ Rise (from “Hansel and Gretel”)
  • Mephisto Waltz
Add a review