John Coltrane – Lush Life (Mono)


Weight 0,8 kg

Analogue Productions (Prestige)




Hybrid Multichannel SACD

In stock

swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe ->

  • Hybrid Mono SACD for sale individually and as part of Analogue Productions’ Prestige Mono Series
  • Mini "old style" gatefold jacket packaging
  • Originally released in 1958
  • John Coltrane, tenor saxophone Earl May, bass Art Taylor, drums Red Garland, piano Donald Byrd, trumpet Paul Chambers, bass Louis Hayes, drums

These SACD jackets feature printed wraps mounted to chipboard shells, producing an authentic, “old school” look and feel. Some people call these “mini LP” jackets.

Here is one of the musical giants of the 20th century, poised on the precipice of greatness. Between the spring of 1957 and the winter of 1958, during which time Lush Life was recorded, the music of tenor saxophonist John Coltrane (1926-1967) was developing in giant steps, thanks in great part to a six-month 1957 stint with Thelonious Monk that had much to do with sharpening Coltrane’s harmonic conception and torrential attack.

Lush Life contains Coltrane’s first recordings as sole leader, his initial date fronting a pianoless trio, and one of his first extended readings of a ballad, Billy Strayhorn’s resplendent title track. We also hear him at the helm of a quartet and quintet, featuring pianist Red Garland, with trumpeter Donald Byrd, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Louis Hayes added to “Lush Life.” Coltrane handles the tune’s delicate complexities with infinite style and finesse.

Coltrane and jazz would never be the same.

  • Like Someone In Love
  • I Love You
  • Trane’s Slo Blues
  • Lush Life
  • I Hear a Rhapsody
Add a review