Nat ‘King’ Cole – After Midnight


Includes 19% MwSt DE
Additional costs (e.g. for customs or taxes) may occur when shipping to non-EU countries.


Notify me when the item is available to order again.

SKU: AAPP 782-45 Category: Tags: ,

“…the originals are a distant second to these 45rpm LPs. Cole’s voice is up front, and the accompaniment, especially the massed strings, has a colorful vividness. After Midnight was recorded in mono, and it is among the very best 1.0-channel reissues. Played with a mono cartridge, it displays intimacy and tonal purity that must be heard to be believed. Recordings this revealing offer new ways of evaluating everything about the recording sessions, and both sets hold up under the scrutiny…All of Analogue Productions’ Nat ‘King’ Cole releases go the extra mile…” — Marc Mickelson, The Audio Beat, September 5, 2010

“…the Nat King Cole LPs are astonishingly beautiful, particularly played through my new Wilson Maxx3’s. They make me cry.” — Max Paley, Acoustic Sounds customer

In this felicitous blending of Nat “King” Cole’s supreme talents as jazz pianist and vocalist with small combos featuring fellow jazz alumni, classic pop and jazz met in a wildly successful brew. A combination of new and familiar songs are featured, including fresh recordings of classic hits like “Route 66.” Musicians include Harry “Sweets” Edison, Juan Tizol, Lee Young, Stuff Smith and Willie Smith augmenting his famous Trio. In addition to the full original album, five additional tracks and one alternate take from the original sessions are included in this release. Mellow, classy, focused and vibrant, After Midnight was a hit and an instant classic upon its release in 1956 and remains a gem to treasure today.

Mastered fully analogue from the original first-generation full-track monaural session tapes by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray to 45-RPM 180-gram vinyl, the exemplary recording is presented in appropriately exquisite sound quality.

Recorded in 1956.

Additional information

Weight 0,8 kg

Analogue Productions

Catalog number

AAPP 782-45




45 RPM Vinyl Record

No. of Discs



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Nat ‘King’ Cole – After Midnight”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Just You, Just Me
  • Sweet Lorraine
  • Sometimes I’m Happy
  • Caravan
  • It’s Only A Paper Moon
  • You’re Looking At Me
  • Lonely One
  • Don’t Let It Go To Your Head
  • I Know That You Know
  • Blame It On My Youth
  • When I Grow Too Old To Dream
  • (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66
  • Candy
  • What Is There To Say?
  • I Was A Little Too Lonely
  • You Can Depend On Me
  • Two Loves Have I
  • Just You, Just Me, Take 2
  • It’s Only a Paper Moon, Take 3