Nat ‘King’ Cole – The Very Thought of You


Weight 0,8 kg

Analogue Productions

Catalog number

AAPP 1084-45


45 RPM Vinyl Record



No. of Discs


Out of stock

Notify me when the item is available to order again.

swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe ->

  • Originally released in 1958.
  • Analogue Productions' Blue Note and Nat "King" Cole Reissues WIN A Positive Feedback 2010 Brutus Award!

“…if you haven’t picked up every one of the Blue Note and Nat King Cole reissues from Chad Kassem and company at Acoustic Sounds, you’re really missing out!” – David W. Robinson, Positive Feedback, Issue 52

“…the Nat King Cole LPs are astonishingly beautiful, particularly played through my new Wilson Maxx3’s. They make me cry.” – Max Paley, Acoustic Sounds customer

Nat “King” Cole and arranger Gordon Jenkins followed their hit album Love Is The Thing with The Very Thought Of You, foraging further into romantic and sensual bliss and creating the audio equivalent of a distillation of romantic ardor in a bottle. The sixteen ballads of The Very Thought Of You, each with their own euphoric tinge, include the title track “The Very Thought of You,” “For All We Know,” “Paradise,” and “But Beautiful.” Again orchestrated with the heavenly strings of the distinctive Gordon Jenkins, sympathetically backing the intimately expressive and supremely musical voice of the incomparable Nat “King” Cole, the result again stands among its era’s finest, most stylistically defining recordings of popular music and continues to enchant listeners to this day.

Using the original 3-track session tapes from Capitol’s vaults and all-analogue systems including custom headstacks, 3-track preview heads, console and monitoring chain installed at AcousTech specially for these releases, mastering engineers Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman realize the stunning wide-range potential and beauty of these recordings. Original releases contained 14 tracks, omitting two superb tracks recorded for the album, “Don’t Blame Me” and “There Is No Greater Love,” due to space constraints, but the full 16 tracks are included in this double 45-RPM 180-gram album set.

  • The Very Thought Of You
  • But Beautiful
  • Impossible
  • I Wish I Knew
  • I Found A Million Dollar Baby
  • Magnificent Obsession
  • My Heart Tells Me
  • Paradise
  • This Is All I Ask
  • Cherie, I Love You
  • Making Believe You’re Here
  • Cherchez La Femme
  • For All We Know
  • The More I See You
Bonus tracks:
  • Don’t Blame Me
  • There Is No Greater Love
Add a review