Otis Redding – The Soul Album



Analogue Productions (Atlantic 75 Series)

Catalog number

AAPA 055-45




45 RPM Vinyl Record

No. of Discs


Out of stock

Notify me when the item is available to order again.

swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe -> swipe ->

  • Analogue Productions (Atlantic 75 Series)
  • Celebrating the 75th Anniversary of Atlantic Records!
  • Great covers album plus original material
  • 180-gram 45 RPM double LP
  • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
  • Gatefold old-style "tip-on" jacket by Stoughton Printing

Otis Redding’s fourth studio album, released in 1966, features Redding performing songs that he co-wrote, as well as covers of songs by such peers as Sam Cooke, Eddie Floyd, Roy Head and Smokey Robinson. Guitarist Steve Cropper contributed guitar on the album, and is also credited as the co-author of three tracks.

AllMusic says The Soul Album shows Redding moving from strength to strength in a string of high-energy, sweaty soul cover performances, recasting them in his own style, so that they’re not “covers” so much as reinterpretations. Redding still had a little way to go as a songwriter — the jewel of this undervalued collection is “Cigarettes and Coffee,” co-authored by Eddie Thomas and Jerry Butler — but as an iterpreter he was without peer, and his albums were showing a remarkably high level of consistency.

Place this deluxe 180-gram 45 RPM 2LP Analogue Productions (Atlantic Series) reissue of The Soul Album on your turntable and prepare for a sublime listening experience.

Side 1
  • Just One More Day
  • It’s Growing
  • Cigarettes And Coffee

Side 2

  • Chain Gang
  • Nobody Knows You (When You’re Down And Out)

Side A

  • Good To Me
  • Scratch My Back
  • Treat Her Right

Side 4

  • Everybody Makes A Mistake
  • Any Ole Way
  • 634-5789
Add a review